The Nervous System consists of the following branches/areas:

The spinal cord consists of 4 regions and 31 vertebrae:

  • Top
    • 8 Cervical
    • 12 Thoracic
    • 5 Lumbar
    • 5 Sacral
    • 1 Coccygeal
  • Bottom

The higher the damage on the spinal cord, the more dangerous it is for the person. Lower damage causes paraplegia, while higher damage causes quadriplegia.

The somatic nervous system controls the voluntary movement through its effects on the muscles.

The autonomic nervous system is the involuntary system that has an affect on organs and glands.

Sympathetic nervous system is activated during fight/flight/freeze states.

Parasympathetic nervous system is activated during rest/digest states.